You are here


The Department of Biotechnology was established in the year 2002, affiliated to Visvesvaraya Technological University (VTU), Belgaum, with adequate support from the Rashtreeya Sikshana Samithi Trust (R.S.S.T). The Department offers one undergraduate program, B.E Biotechnology and one postgraduate program M.Tech Biotechnology. Department also offers M.Sc by research and Ph.D. degree in various specializations of Biotechnology and Biinformatics. The UG Programme in Biotechnology is accredited by National Board of Accreditation (NBA) for 6 years from 2021-2027,  accreditation was extended by 2 years from 2018-2020, earlier the B E Biotechnology program was acredited by NBA for 3 years from 2015-2018 and for 5 years from 2008-2013. Infrastructure facilities of the department are spread over 3067.69 Sq Meters with well equipped laboratories, lecture halls and departmental library. It also has an air conditioned seminar hall accommodating 120 persons with multimedia facilities. The department library is well stocked with reference books, text books and journals. The B E Biotechnology program became autonomous in 2007 and an independent BoS was constituted to design and develop the curriculum. The department started two PG Programs M.Tech in Biotechnology and M.Tech in Bioinformatics with a sanctioned intake of 18 students each in the year 2011 & 2012 respectively and became autonomous in the year 2016.

Department of Biotechnology brochure Click here

About the Department
VTU Research Center
Infrastructure / Facilities
Research Initiatives
Industry Interface
Events and Seminars
Co-Curricular Activities and Extra-curricular activities
Centre of Excellence in Computational Genomics


Alumni meet