

## Thursday 29<sup>th</sup> November 2018

## Rajyotsava honour for AVS Murthy Rajyotsava honour for Dattu, Margaret Alva

TIMES NEWS NETWORK **Bengaluru:** 

Former CJI HL Dattu, Olympian Kenneth Powell, former governor Margaret Alva and Kannada film actor Jai Jagadeesh are among the 63 persons selected for Kannada Rajyotsava awards, the highest civilian honour in Karnataka.

CM HD Kumaraswamy will present the awards at Vidhana Soudha at 5pm Thursday. The award carries Rs 1 lakh prize, 20gm gold medal and a citation. The government announced the list on Wednesday after a delay of nearly a month. Traditionally, Rajyotsava awards are conferred on November 1, the state formation day. This year, the selection and announcement of award winners were delayed because of Lok Sabha and assembly bypolls in the first week of the month.

(From top left) Margaret Alva, HL Dattu, Jai Jagadeesh, Kenneth Powell are among the 63 awardees **63 Rajvotsava awardees will be honoured todav** 

Kumaraswamy Will Present Awards At Vidhana Soudha

Dattu, from Chikkamagaluru, was the first Kannadiga CJI and now heads the National Human Rights Commission. He served as Kerala HC and Chhattisgarh high court chief justice before becoming the CJI.

In the sports category, the government picked 'gentleman sprinter' Kenneth Powell, more than 50 years after he competed in the 1964 Tokyo Olympics alongside 'flying Sikh' Milkha Singh in men's 400m relay squad. Powell is a 17-time national sprint champion. A feared fast bowler for Colonial Sports Club in Kolar Gold Fields, he later began training as an athlete after his coach advised him to concentrate on individual sports. His grandfather was a Welshman who worked in an ammunition factory in Nilgiris.

R Chetan from Hassan, who won gold in badminton at the World Dwarf Games in 2009, has made it to the list in the sports category.

Awardees also include prominent politicians — Margaret Alva, governor of four states, and former JD(S) MP Shivanand Koujalagi.

Alva, from Karwar in Uttara Kannada district, began her political journey in 1975 and played a big role at the national level after she was elected to the Rajya Sabha for four consecutive six-year terms from 1974.

Koujalagi, working president of the Karnataka Lingayat Education Society, was public works minister in the HD Deve Gowda cabinet in the state and later won the Bagalkot Lok Sabha seat. His son Mahantesh now represents Bailahongal in the legislative assembly.

Geetha Ramanujam, educationist, is among the prominent awardees in the education category.

