Monday 02nd November 2020, Page No.16

RVCE Students Mr. Avinash M and Mr. Tejas K to get Ekalavya award

Mirza, Nataraj to get Ekalavya award

TIMES NEWS NETWORK

Bengaluru: India cricketers KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Veda Krishnamurthy, Asiad silver medallist Fouaad Mirza and ace swimmer Srihari Nataraj were among the 31 top sportspersons from Karnataka who have been selected for the prestigious Ekalavya Award.

The awards will be given away by chief minister BS Yediyurappa at the Banquet Hall of Vidhana Soudha on Monday morning. He will honour the winners of Ekala-

TOP HONOURS

vya, Lifetime Achievement, Karnataka Kreeda Ratna and Karnataka Kreeda Poshaka awards for 2017, 2018 and 2019.

Hockey Olympian Manuel Fredricks and former India cricket skipper Shantha Rangaswamy were part of the six former stars who will be honoured with the Lifetime Achievement award.

Noted kambala racer Srinivas Gowda and para-climber Manikandan K are among those who are to be honoured with the Karnataka Kreeda Ratna Award, which is given to those who excel in rural sports.









ALL SMILES: (from left): Fouaad Mirza, Srihari Natraj, Veda and Mayank

The winners list of Kreeda Poshaka award, given away for the best sports promoters, is topped by Mangalore University and Swarna Football Development Association, Mandya.

Announcing the winners in Chikmagaluru on Sunday, sports minister CT Ravi said the Ekalavya winners will receive a cash award of Rs two lakh, a statuette and a citation. The life-time winners will be richer by Rs 1.5 lakh. The Kreeda Ratnas will pocket Rs one lakh each while the winners of the Kreeda Poshaka Award will receive Rs five lakh.

"Except the top cricketers and Mirza, who is training in Germany, most of the other award winners are expected to attend the awardfunction," a Department of Youth Empowerment and Sports (DYES) official said.

THE WINNERS

Ekalavya Award: 2017: Reena George S (athletics), Mithula UK (badminton), Anil Kumar BK (basketball), Varsha S (billiards/snooker), Raju Adiveppa Bhati (cycling), MN Ponamma (hockey), Usharani N (kabaddi), Shekhar Veeraswamy (para tennis), M Deepa (rowing), Tejas K (shooting), Avinash Mani (swimming), Kushi V (table tennis), Vinayak Rokhade (volleyball), Arjun Halkurki (wrestling). 2018: Vijayakumari GK (athletics), KL Bandhavya HM (basketball), KL Rahul (cricket), Megha Gugad (cycling), Fouaad Mirza (equestrian), Nikkin Thimmaiah (hockey), Geeta Dannappagol (judo), Sakina Khatun (para powerlifting), Srihari Nataraj (swimming); 2019: Abhinaya Shetty (athletics), Abhishek N Shetty

(athletics), Mayank Agarwal (cricket), Veda Krishnamurthy (cricket), Venkappa Kengalagutti (cycling), Puliyana Lokesh Thirmmanna (hockey), Punith Nandakumar (para swimming), Khushi Dinesh (swimming).

Lifetime Achievement award: 2017:
Manuel Fredricks (hockey), Dr Patel
Mohammed Ilyas (volleyball). 2018: CA
Karumbaiah (hockey), Manjunatha R
(kabaddi). 2019: Shantha Rangaswamy
(cricket), Sanjeev R Kanaka (kho-kho).
Karuataka Kreeda Ratna Award: 2017:
Mahesh R Erimani (atya-patya), Jayalakshmi G
ball badminton), Chandrashekhar H Kallaholad
(gundu ettuvudu), Kousalya KS (kabaddi),
Gopalkrishna Prabhu (kambala), Srinivas Gowda
(kambala), Veena M (kho-kho), Bheemappa
Hadapad (mallakamba), Manikandan K (para

climbing), Ranjith M (throwball), Anushree HS (wrestling); 2018: Sampath N Yaragatti (atya-patya), Lavanya BD (ball badminton). Yamanappa Mayappa Kalloli (gundu ettuvudu), Suresh Shetty (kambala), Shiyakumar HN (kho-kho), Kiran Kumar I (tennikoit). Mallappagouda Patil (wrestling); 2019: Anitha Bichagatti (atya-patya), Pallavi SK (ball badminton), Rakshith S (kabaddi), Sudarshan (kho-kho), Anupama Kerakalamatti (mallakamba), Praveen (kambala), Anisha Ananda Manegar (tennikoit), Manjunath H (throwball), Sateesh Padatare (wrestling); Karnataka Kreeda Poshaka Award: 2018-19: Swarna Football Development Association, Mandya, VR Deshpande Memorial Trust, Haliyal. 2019-20: Mangalore University. 2020-21: Sri Siddaganga Education Trust, Tumakuru, Manik Sports Academy, Bidar.

用戶戶 日本